Travel News > May 2021 > International Travel Restart is Confirmed

International Travel Restart is Confirmed


It's official international travel can re-start on 17 May.

To keep travellers and the country safe, a three-tier traffic light system will be in place, classifying countries as green, amber, or red according to their covid-19 risk.  

Which countries have made the 'Green List'?

The government has now published it's 'green list' of countries which initially includes Portugal and the Azores, Madeira and Gibraltar. This means that you will be able to travel to these destinations without having to quarantine when you return to the UK, although you will still have to be tested, see below for an explanation of the rules.

More countries are expected to be added to the 'green list' as we head towards the main summer season, with the government reviewing the classifications every 3 weeks. 

Here is a brief guide to how the classifications will work:

Green:   Passengers will not need to quarantine on return, but must take a pre-departure test, as well as a PCR test on return to the UK.

Amber:  Travellers will need to quarantine for 10 days at home, as well as taking a pre-departure test and two PCR tests once back in the UK.

Red: Non-essential travel will be banned. Passengers will have to pay for a 10-day stay in a managed quarantine hotel, as well as a pre-departure test and two PCR tests.

Where to find the latest information?

You can see a summary of the traffic light rules, along with with the country classifications here:

Check the latest advice, including entry requirements, for the country you want to travel to here:

General advice for travelling abroad during the coronavirus pandemic:

Travel Insurance

If you have booked a holiday, or are planning to book a holiday, protect it now with comprehensive travel insurance.

All of our policies include cover for emergency medical expenses and repatriation (getting you home) if you contract COVID-19 whilst you are abroad.